YMVC 2019

The filmmakers who participated in YMVC 2019 and the artists they made the videos for are:

Elena Horgan – Kobina (Shogani)
Robert Montgomery – Kobina (Knots)
Eva Wyse – All Tvvins (Build a Bridge)
Ben Kavanagh – Morning Midnight (Ancoat Junction)
Conor McCormick – True Tides (The Answer)
Naomi Fagan – Laoise (I Mean)

The 2019 YMVC award winner was Elena Horgan’s video for Kobina’s Shogani. This track, according to the artist, “deals with trying to contend with mental health struggles and finding solace in another.” The video is built from over 1000 images shot individually on 35mm which accounts for the warm, nostalgic feeling that blankets the entire thing.

The 2019 panel of judges consisted of Daithí (musician), Niall Byrne (Nialler9), Lorraine Geoghegan (Hinterland Films), Christian Tierney (Photographer), Dave Hanratty (Joe.ie + No Encore), Leah Joyce (Academy Films) and Kate Dolan (Director).